top of page
  • Fritz Engstrom

Playing Early Tennis

I first played a little bit of tennis at age 11, at a court near Leland School and the Ladies Club. I played a little at camp. However, my big point was 1960 (I turned 12 that year) when my parents joined the new Western Racquet Club in Elm Grove. There were three tennis courts at first (there are 18 today), a pool, club house with dining room, and a small tennis building. I thought I was pretty good, since I played at my summer camp. But when I got home from camp, it became clear that many people played very good tennis. I started getting lessons, and started tournaments at age 15.


The head pro was Harold Swanson. He attended University of Minnesota college, and was second in the Big Ten (the guy who beat him became a famous international player). He taught at a Milwaukee school, and was our tennis pro in the summer. Harold was not only a great player, but a brilliant teacher and exceptional personality. He was thoughtful and kind. Soon, many of the serious tennis players in our region either joined the club or took some lessons. If it was a very hot day – in the 90’s – he would encourage us to avoid tennis and instead swim in the pool. He started a Wisconsin tennis tournament open to all of those aged 16 and under, and for the first time in my life I got to the finals (lost in three sets) against good players.


The standard process was to arrive for tennis in the morning, play sets (singles or doubles), and often get a lesson. In the middle of the afternoon we would leave the courts and swim together with other teenagers, and play games in the pool. On Wednesdays we often played matches against other clubs, and usually won. On the way home, the driver of the car often stopped for food at a brand-new fancy restaurant – McDonald’s!!! On those Wednesdays when we did not have competition against other clubs, Mr. Swanson would play one set against each of the top 6 players at the Racquet Club. He beat most of us 6-0, although the best player (first in state) often made it 6-1.


One year I injured my knee and was in a full-length cast. I could not play tennis or swim most of the summer, but I continued to attend the club, and even stood in front of a wall and hit the tennis ball. When I was 18, I won the club tournaments for Men’s Singles, Men’s Doubles (with Dave Lange), and Mixed Doubles (with sister Sara).


I had a magical summer when I turned 16. We teenagers took turns setting up evening social events at our house. We would play the new rock and roll (1964) or other music on a record player. We sometimes danced. We were clean – I cannot remember any alcohol or drugs. I had my first kiss.


The Racquet Club was thus important in several ways. Had a great teacher. Learned how to socialize with other kids. Much improved tennis lasting a lifetime. Swam with other individuals. A major part of my adolescence. I visited Mr. Swanson many years later in southern Wisconsin, and he was very kind.


41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Elm Grove Eating

We had standard dinner at home most nights in the 1950’s and early 60’s, with mashed potatoes, pot roast, liver, lima beans, and green peas. We were mandated to eat well, and occasionally dad stayed

bottom of page